Phone 802-655-9798 | Fax 802-655-0002

Dr Michael Borrello

Dr Michael BorrelloDr. Michael Borrello is a graduate of the Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center Fellowship in Pain Management Program in 1995. He completed his anesthesiology residency at DHMC in 1994 and received his medical degree from the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston in 1990. In 1995 he joined the AA Pain Clinic in Anchorage Alaska and served as Medical Director of the Alaska Surgery Center.


Dr. Borrello joined the Fletcher Allen Center for Pain Medicine in 2000. During his tenure he taught residents and fellows and served as Clinical Director. Dr. Borrello was a forum moderator/instructor at the American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine’s (ASRAPM) national pain medicine meeting as well as instructor for the radiofrequency cadaver workshops as part of the national American Society of Anesthesiology’s (ASA) annual conference. Dr. Borrello is a member of ASRAPM and ASA.

Dr Jerry Tarver

Dr Jerry TarverDr. Jerry Tarver completed his fellowship training in Pain Medicine at Penn State Hershey Medical Center in 1999. He received his anesthesiology training at West Virginia University in 1992 and his medical degree from the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio in 1985.


Prior to VISC, Dr. Tarver practiced pain medicine and trained residents and fellows at the Fletcher Allen Center for Pain Medicine for eight years. He served as Fellowship Director of the Pain Medicine Fellowship Program and was an instructor of radiofrequency cadaver workshops offered at the national conference of the ASA. In addition to his membership in the ASA, Dr. Tarver is a member of the International Spinal Intervention Society (ISIS), and the ASRAPM.

Our Doctors

Drs. Borrello and Tarver established the Vermont Interventional Spine Center (VISC) to expand the availability of resources for nonoperative interventional spine disorder evaluation and management.

This subspecialty continues to rapidly evolve and through current techniques, state-of-the-art equipment and continuing education, we will evolve with it. Both physicians are double board certified by the American Board of Medical Specialties and by the American Board of Anesthesiology.